Gluten Free Pineapple Upside Down Cake

IMG_1216

In a continuation of “clean out the fridge dinner”, I present….

“clean out the pantry dessert”. 🙂

With the help of Pamela’s Classic Vanilla Cake Mix, I made a homestyle favorite, Pineapple Upside Down Cake.

This was the first time I tried Pamela’s cake mix.   This wasn’t THE BEST cake I’ve eaten, as it did leave a somewhat salty taste in my mouth, but I would definitely buy the mix again.  It’s one of those pantry staples that comes in handy for a quick, spur of the moment, dessert.

Honestly, I enjoyed the caramalized brown sugar/pineapple/butter mixture more than the cake as a whole. Those pineapplely, sugary, crunchy corners left me yearning for vanilla ice-cream.  Ahhhhh!  Just keepin’ it real folks!

Cake:

  • 1 bag of cake mix
  • 1/4 cup oil(I used canola)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk(I used skim)

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 can pineapple slices
  • maraschino cherries/chopped pecans(optional) Note: I didn’t have cherries so I sprinkled pecans over the pineapples, before adding the batter.  As you can see in the picture, during the baking process, they found their way throughout the cake….not a bad thing, by any means.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325. Melt butter in microwave and add to 9×13 pan.  Sprinkle brown sugar over butter and place pineapple rings, side by side, on top.  Sprinkle pecans or place cherries in center of pineapple.  Mix all cake ingredients together and pourly evenly over pineapple.  Bake for 25-30 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes, then invert cake onto plate.

-Erin