Gluten Free Cinnamon Raisin Bread

IMG_2354

Credit for this lovely loaf goes to Mr. Bob’s Red Mill and his GF Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix.

Credit is due when credit is due, right?

My thoughts………

Pros:  

  • Easy peasy to make.  Dissolve the yeast in some water, add some oil, an egg and throw in the flour mix.  Mix for about 2 minutes and spoon into a baking pan.
  • Smells fabulous while baking.  Smells fabulous while baking.  Smells fabulous while baking.
  • Fresh out of the oven, you don’t even need butter, pb, honey, cream cheese, etc.  It feels, it tastes and it looks like REAL bread.

Cons:

  • You have to wait about an hour for the batter to rise and then it takes another hour for the bread to bake.
  • Dries out very easily. I made the loaf last night and by morning, I could taste a dryer texture.

Would I buy this again? Most definitely.

Despite the dryness, I discovered a solution to maintain the freshness.

I simply cut the loaf into individual slices, wrapped them in plastic wrap and placed them in the freezer.  This afternoon, I took one slice, microwaved it for about 30 seconds, toasted it and then topped it with honey walnut cream cheese. YUM. 

I’m such a carbo-lover.

To make the cream cheese, I took reduced fat philly cream cheese and added honey & chopped walnuts  to taste. Easy peasy, just like mixing the bread. 🙂

Here’s something ironic.  Before I was diagnosed with Celiac, I was pretty much a cake/muffin/cookie/bread mix snob.  I considered myself a true baker and preferred to make breads/desserts/goodies from scratch.  Now post Celiac diagnosis, I find myself relying A LOT on gf mixes or all purpose type baking flours.  I guess it’s the working mom coming out in me…convenience, convenience, convenience.  It is just easier to buy a bread mix than take the time(that I don’t have) to buy 3-5 different gf flours and experiment.  At least I know gf mixes don’t have all of the preservatives and filler ingredients like “regular” mixes. 

Your thoughts?

Sweet dreams,

eRiN

3 Responses

  1. That looks great! I love cinnamon raisin bread! Another carb lover here!

    • hi kim!
      carb lovers unite 🙂
      i see you make pamela’s bread mix a lot. i haven’t tried it yet, but it must be good?!?!
      i found the Udi’s bread at Whole Foods this weekend. can’t wait to taste it.

Leave a Reply

