Tuesdays with Dorie-Gluten Free Applesauce Spice Bars

IMG_2138

I’m sure I’m not the only one who baked these and immediately thought of Fall, caramel apples and State Fairs.

I can’t even express to you how much I am ready for the heat of summer to pass.  Unfortantely, here in Houston, we have a couple more months of 100 degree weather. UGHHH.  At least these bars put me in a temporary, cool weather frame of mind.

Karen at Something Sweet chose this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe. You can find the recipe for Applesauce Spice Bars here.

These bars, along with the French Yogurt Cake & Fresh Ginger/Chocolate Gingerbread, rank up there as one of my favorite Dorie recipes so far.  Soooo moist.

Although the picture shows a caramel topping, I actually prefer the bars sans icing.  I prefer the cakey part full of cinnamon, allspice, grated granny smith apple, pecans and golden raisins.

To make the bars gluten free I simply replaced the AP flour with Pamela’s baking mix(I still haven’t replaced my gluten free flour stash i.e. brown rice flour).  Note: I did eliminate the baking powder, baking soda and salt in the recipe, as the Pamela’s mix contains these ingredients. Pamela’s prevailed again and left me with zero complaints. 

I can sum up this post pretty easily…..mAKE tHESE bARS!!!!

See you next Tuesday for the Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie.  Oh la la.

-Erin

3 Responses

  1. Mmm I think I will make this this afternoon. I’ve been diggin’ fall foods lately too. Stew, soup, etc. Let’s just crank the AC way down and pretend it’s cold, haha

  2. AMEN jen!

  3. testing 1,2,3

Leave a Reply

