Gluten Free Blackberry Upside Down Muffins

IMG_1495

Are you a recipe repeater or a one-time recipe maker? 

For the most part, I’m a one-time recipe maker. I get bored pretty easily and the thought of making something over and over, when there are so many other creations to try, just seems kind of dull.  Ironically though, these muffins, along with a couple of others in my collection , have been made more than once; pre-Celiac days.  I just luv ’em.

Today was the day to tackle the recipe and make it gluten free.

Sometimes baking doesn’t go as planned and I am left to improvise.  Today was one of those days.

Instead of the blackberries suspending their way throughout the muffins, they sunk to the bottom.  Oh well.

Upside down muffins were born.

Turning them upside down made them look much prettier and more photogenic(yes, I am giving compliments to my muffins. It gives them self confidence, which in turn makes me want to eat more—probably not a good thing).  🙂

The consistancy still needs some tweaking but they sure tasted good; especially the top 1/3, with all of those fresh berries. MMmmmm.

Blackberry Upside Down Muffins

  • 1/2 cup oat flour( Lara’s Whole Grain Oat Flour)
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/3 canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 cup chopped, fresh blackberries

Preheat oven to 375 and line muffin tin with liners

Place oil into 1 cup measuring cup, add the egg and enough milk to fill cup

Combine dry ingredients; mix wet with dry

Fold in blackberries

Fill muffin cup 3/4 full and bake for 20-25 minutes or until done

Source: Erin’s Kitchen

NOTE:  Tomorrow starts a week long vacation to California; visiting family, celebrating a quinceanera, and playing at Lego Land.  See you when I return on August 1st.  Until then, happy blogging and happy eating!

-Erin

 

2 Responses

  1. Wow! All your bakegoods look great esp. the muffins! I tend to be a recipe repeater. I’m always looking for new recipes, but I have a handful of favorites that I keep making. I may make a slight change to some of my fav recipes though to keep from getting bored 🙂
    http://www.annaseats.com

  2. Erin!!!! Those look amazing!!! I can’t wait to try those! I just finished my blackberries, but you can bet I will be getting more ASAP!! YUM!

Leave a Reply

