Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Icing

IMG_1480

IMG_1487

Today the kids were bored EARLY; I’m talking 9am early.  My solution to boredom? BAKING. 🙂  A two hour activity for them and a chance to try one of the Betty Crocker Gluten free cake mixes for me.

Without further ado I present….

Cupcakes A La Erin and Cupcakes A La Leah and Alex.

Leah specifically suggested that we make chocolate cupcakes with strawberry icing and strawberries on top.  I’m not sure what happened to the strawberries on top but the kids made up for them with LOTS and LOTS and LOTS of colored sprinkles.  A child’s creativity is priceless.

These cupcakes are AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!  What makes them more AWESOMer?  There isn’t a list of 1000 unknown ingredients like the “regular” cake mixes.  Simply rice flour, sugar, potato starch, leavening, xanthan gum and salt…to which you add  water, butter and eggs. So not only is the gluten free cake mix easy/convenient it also doesn’t contain any preservatives.  Can I get a whoop, whoop? 

As a parent, all I could think about is kid’s birthday parties and how this mix, alone, could be used to make cupcakes/cake for gluten free children and their friends. You could truly serve this to every kid/adult and no one would even know it is gluten free.  Betty Crocker has completely “normalized” the cake experience for us gluten freeERs.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Strawberry Icing

1 box Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix

Icing:

  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup fresh strawberries, quartered and pureed in food processor
  • whole milk as needed

Beat butter until soft and smooth

Add vanilla and sugar

Mix in strawberry puree

Add enough milk until icing is piping/spreading consistancy

Mix all ingredients on high until icing is smooth and light

Decorate as desired; kid style or adult style 🙂

Source: Cake—Betty Crocker, Icing—Erin’s Kitchen

-Erin

9 Responses

  1. Erin, you have done it again! I am drooling over those cupcakes! I love the BC DFC mix and that is the perfect frosting! Great idea! 🙂

    Thanks!

    Kim

  2. Those look YUMMY! I’m looking forward to my kids being old enough to do some baking. Gabriel already like to pretend he is stirring something in a bowl.

    • hey Mel-T!
      baking with kiddos is definitely an adventure:)
      you have to put the patient hat on and realize that some sort of mess will occur. i think by the end of our cupcake decorating, we had half of the sprinkles on the floor. lol. life is good.

  3. Thanks for the review of the Betty Crocker GF cake. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet and I was wondering if it was good. These cupcakes look wonderful! I’ll have to make a “boy” version for my grandsons!

    • welcome ashleigh!
      a “boy version” sounds like a plan. 🙂
      wow, a whole blog devoted to gluten freeness AND chocolate!

  4. These look delicious. I can’t wait to try them! Thank you for the inspiration. I am going to try and make them dairy free as I have some trouble with dairy. Great blog!

    Ellen

Leave a Reply

