1 year!

first_birthday_news_image_tcm185308

Today marks an important milestone in my life; a milestone that led me to start this blog.  A milestone that leaves me believing that a medical diagnosis doesn’t necessarily mean life is over. 

One year ago today……

On July 16th 2008, I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease

One year has taught me that while some people still don’t get the whole Celiac thing and why/how I eat gluten free,  the word is spreading and society is learning about this disease and how it affects our world.   At least there is progress. 🙂

A year has taught me that there is a gluten free replacement for pretty much every “regular” food. Granted, it might not taste the same but it feels darn good to say “yes, I can still eat pizza, sandwiches and cupcakes”.  I’ve also learned that cooking/baking/eating at home isn’t only safer(in terms of cross contamination and unknown ingredients) it tastes better and it is cheaper.

To highlight…the last 365 days has brought me:

  • lower cholesterol
  • increased iron, B12 and calcium levels
  • no more ice chewing
  • disappearance of Dermatitis Herpetiformas
  • MUCH MORE energy
  • bye bye restless leg syndrome
  • 100% acceptance of my Celiac diagnosis

Life isn’t always fair, but it is still good!

-Erin

9 Responses

  1. Great post! 🙂 Glad to hear all the wonderful benefits that going GF has brought to you. I hope you continue to have great years. 🙂

    Kim

  2. Horray for you!
    I had a lot of the same changes, good for you!!

  3. Two things:

    1. I said both “horray for you” and “good for you.” It’s been a long day.

    2. I just saw that you won the prize pack from Gluten Hates Me- congrats! I can’t wait to see your reviews on the stuff I haven’t tried!

  4. Fantastic!!! You also have an increased glow about you. I know you are committed and will keep up the new found GF lifestyle!
    Hugs
    Mom

  5. I agree! Life isn’t always fair, but it challenges you to think and live in ways you never thought possible! I think your doing a great job 🙂 I prefer to eat my own home-cooked food too rather than eat out. I have lots of allergies to a variety of foods and I hate sitting at a restaurant thinking- will I be OK if I eat this. It’s not too enjoyable that way

Leave a Reply

