Gluten Free English Muffins

IMG_1428

Although I know there are probably other GF bagels out there, Glutino bagels still rank #1 with me.  If you don’t remember my Glutino bagel review, check it out here.

After 2 or 3 trips of not finding Glutino bagels at my local Whole Foods, I was going through withdrawal. LOL.  The empty shelf frustration led me to glutenfree.com where not only could I restock my supply of Glutino bagels but I could also try the Glutino English Muffins.

Ordering food online is a new experience for me.  I find myself gasping at the shipping/handling charge and make up for the cost by ordering probably much more than I really need.  Point in case…$50 later, I found myself ordering 2 bags of cinnamon raisin bagels(YUM,YUM), 2 bags of sesame seed bagels(YUM, YUM) and 1 bag of english muffins(not as YUM, YUM).

Unlike the bagels which are really close to the “real” shabang, the english muffins just didn’t do it for me. They weren’t bad just not WOW, BUY AGAIN worthy. I kept on wanting them to taste like my favorite Thomas’ English muffins but it just wasn’t happening.  The nooks and crannies weren’t as pronounced and honestly, it  just tasted like soft, cornmealy bread. Perhaps I didn’t toast it enough?

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll finish the bag but I can’t see myself buying another bunch.

Too bad, so sad 😦

Any gf english muffin tips? stories? advice?

-Erin

10 Responses

  1. I’ve tried those too. I agree, they weren’t horrible, but I didn’t think they captured the true “english muffin” spirit. They might as well have been rolls or buns.

    I’ve tried making them from scratch, but I couldn’t get the starch/ flour ratio right and got tired of trying. One of these days I’ll get around to it.

    • hi jen!
      lol. i like that ….the “english muffin spirit”.
      you are so right.
      i think i’ll tackle a homemade version too.

  2. I agree that these are not awesome. They’re ok, but definitely not Thomas’. I think Joan’s GF Great Bakes are amazing, but expensive, and Trader Joe’s are really great to.

    • hi jenny!
      i like your new blog title 🙂 congrats on your own domain!
      i actually bookmarked Joan’s at one point but, like you said, declined to make the purchase after seeing my total price. ughh.
      bummer, we don’t have a trader joe’s in houston but i am making my way to NC this weekend and trader joe’s is definitely on the agenda.

  3. Glad you’re back!
    I’ve never tried the english muffins, and now I’m wondering if I’ll bother. Hmm. The Glutino cinnamon raisin bread is AWESOME though! I’d recommend it if you haven’t tried it yet.

    • hi adi!
      great to hear from you!
      no, i haven’t tried the cinnamon raisin bread. thanks for the recommendation.
      as for the english muffins…i think i was mainly dissapointed because they didn’t remind me of “regular” english muffins. they just tasted like toasted bread, which isn’t a bad thing i guess 🙂

  4. Nerds!! Good to know! I almost bought these yesterday!

  5. Bummer!!!!! I like em, but you are totally correct in saying they are not close to a real Thomas’s EM. Oh well… sorry it didnt work out. But keep me posted on your quest!

    • hi carolyn,
      i was totally thinking of you while writing this post!
      something tells me i just have HIGH gluten free english muffin standards 🙂
      i want something that reminds me of Thomas’ but i’m not sure it will happen.
      great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

