Whole Foods Pizza Crust

IMG_1223

Quite simply, the Whole Foods Gluten Free bakehouse  is my dream job. 

Not only would it allow me to resume my pre-celiac bakery job days, but it would also allow me to live close to my NC family!!  One day.  Dream, dream, dream. 

NOTE:  I actually contacted the bakehouse a couple of months ago, hoping to get a tour and  a chance to talk with the baking staff, but they don’t open production to the public.   DARN! 

Anyways, you may or may not remember my Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust review?!?!  If you don’t,  this will refresh your memory.  In a nut shell, that pizza ROCKED.

Well, I have found another gf crust to join the All-Star team; Whole Foods GF Pizza Crust

Amongst other delicious looking baked goods, this crust caught my eye in the Whole Foods freezer section a few weeks ago.  The crusts stay frozen until you’re ready to defrost, bake and eat.  Two crusts to a pack; one pack about $6 or so buckaroos( I can’t remember the exact price).   Not too shabby considering the price you pay for a delivery pizza; which totally debunks the myth that all gf foods are more expensive than “regular” foods. 🙂

I thawed mine for about 30-45min(which means, yes, planning is involved) and topped the crust with sauce, portabello mushrooms and jalapeno jack cheese.

What’s nice about this crust is that it doesn’t require “the pre-bake step” like Bob’s.   You just thaw and bake.  The crust is thicker and softer than Bob’s and it reminds me of California Pizza Kitchen’s whole wheat crust.  Yum! 

Straight out of the oven, I liked each of these crusts the same.  However,  the leftovers prize goes to Bob’s.  In my opinion, the thinner crust held better overnight in the fridge.  Oh, how I luv cold pizza.  Breakfast anyone?

IMG_1220

-Erin

7 Responses

  1. YUM!!! I know what I am doing when I get home from vacation…heading to Whole Foods to get some of this!! YAY!!

    Thanks for the great review!

  2. That looks great. I will have to try get my hands onto a package to try them out. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I talked to a Bob’s spokesperson at a national celiac conference and he raved about the pizza crust – and he can eat gluten! I can’t wait to find it when it comes to stores here. At least I know he’s not biased if you think it’s awesome too!

  4. To whom it may concern;

    I am writing to inform you of our new Gluten free menu. About 4 yrs ago my sister Christine and I opened nebo restaurant at 90 N. Washington St. in Boston’s North End. Nebo is a traditional Italian restaurant offering dishes based on recipes that were passed down from our mother and grandmother. After being open for about a year, two of our closest friends were told they had Celiac disease. We then realized just how many people this disease has affected and the need for an alternative for their dining restrictions. Determined to serve our friends their favorites, we set upon making our menu available in a gluten free form. We are thrilled to say that we have now produced 90% of our menu with the same great taste as our regular menu. We don’t think there has been an accomplishment that has brought us more pleasure. If you would like us to forward a copy of our Gluten free menu please send a menu request to nebofunctions@gmail.com .

Leave a Reply

