Tuesdays with Dorie-Chipster Topped Brownies-Gluten Free

IMG_1135

Once again the TWD bakers had me stepping out of my baking comfort zone.  Brownies topped with chocolate chip cookie dough. Yep, you read that right! Cool, huh?

Beth @ Supplicious chose this week’s pick and you can find the recipe for these chocolicious treats on her blog.

I haven’t had the best of luck with making gf cookies; the spreading seems to get the best of me.  With that being said, I just wasn’t sure how my chocolate chip cookie dough would set on top of the brownies.  I put the thoughts of my past attempts aside and proceeded with my cookie -making game face.  I was a happy baker. 

I made half of a batch, as it seems I’m the one who usually ends up eating most of my baking experiments :). I substituted my usual brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca starch for the AP flour. As I’m typing this I realized I didn’t include any xanthan gum. Well, I guess it wasn’t really needed because the texture/structure held together.  Although the recipe didn’t call for that much flour, I did taste the grittiness of the rice flour. Hmmmm.  Regardless, I would definitely make this recipe again. 

I didn’t have unsweetened chocolate for the brownie layer, so I substituted german chocolate and only added 1/3 cup of requested sugar.  I eliminated the walnuts because I didn’t have any but I’m sure any kind of nut would be a great addition.

I love the look of these chipster brownies. While the two layers are distinct and individual, their flavors flow together to make an eye appealing dessert. I highly recommend a large glass of cold milk with these babies. They WILL satisfy anyone’s sweet tooth. 

Make it a great day!

-Erin

7 Responses

  1. They look great! I really liked these too, the dryness of the brownie layer seems to have disappeared over night 🙂

  2. So glad these worked out for you. They look yummy!

  3. Wow, your brownies look terrific! I’d love a bite right now! =)

  4. I’m so inspired by the gluten-free cookery. Your brownies look perfect!

  5. Glad you enjoyed them!!

  6. They were SWEET. Yours look great.

  7. How great that you were able to make these gluten free! Yummy too :). Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

