Tuesdays with Dorie- Fresh Mango Bread-Gluten Free

IMG_1006

This week’s TWD pick came from Kelly @ Baking with the Boys

I couldn’t wait to make this bread. The anticipation of fresh mangos baked with sugar, cinnamon and ginger had my undivided attention.

It didn’t disappoint.  In fact it got better each day it sat on my counter.  Why, dear mangos, have I not used you before in baking? I have used every other fruit imaginable? Well, let me just tell you. …this won’t be the last. I have visions of a mango upside down cake and mango pancakes.

I made a few additions/substitutions to the recipe. Once again, my mexican influences prevailed 🙂 

  • 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour,  1/2 cup + 1/8 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup tapioca starch, 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum in place of the 2 cups of AP flour
  • eliminated the golden raisins and substituted shredded coconut
  • made a lime & sugar syrup which I poured on top after I pulled them out of the oven; I then topped the bread with toasted coconut

You can find the recipe here or better yet, buy the book…..You’ll luv it!

I’m off to check out the other TWD bloggers and their Mango Bread creations.

Happy baking!

-Erin

12 Responses

  1. I love the topping! Great idea! Your muffins look fantastic!

  2. I love mango but my husband doesn’t care for it. I never thought of baking with it, maybe I should try it.

  3. I thought that coconut would be good in this.

  4. Ohh nice addition with Coconut! Looks great!

  5. Totally forwarding this to my gluten free friend. Nice job!

  6. The coconut topping looks wonderful and I don’t even like coconut! I love the lime syrup idea, I didn’t get the lime flavor at all in mine.

  7. MANGO PANCAKES! I love it! The coconut looks fantastic! It must have gone so well with the mango bread!!! And the lime syrup was a great idea – after baking, I couldn’t even taste the lime! It looks great!

  8. I love the coconut on top. How cool you were able to successfully make it gluten free. It looks great.

  9. gasp…coconut?! that sounds fantastic! and that’s great you were able to convert it to be gluten-free, without sacrificing the taste. brilliant 🙂

  10. Looks delicious to me. It was nice and moist, and mangoes would never have occurred to me. It was a good basic spicy bread.

    Great job.

  11. Beautiful – I had the same thought, that I should start baking more with mango.

  12. I love your changes! And the idea of a mango-upside down cake is great. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

