Oatmeal Raisin Squares

IMG_0960

Houston, we have a problem 🙂

I’m having technical difficulties and it is frustrating!  UGHHH! 

When I used to download blog photos, they were big; a perfect size to see the photo detail.  Now when I download photos they’re tinier and I can’t figure why? It’s on the “medium size picture download” which  I thought was the problem so I tried “the large size” but it is HUGE ; you can only see half of the photo on the blog.  Thoughts? Suggestions?

Besides the photo size issue, I’m also experimenting with a “photo label”. Bare with me, as you’ll see various writing/ fonts on my photos over the next few posts.

Onto the food….

NOTE TO SELF: Oatmeal Raisin Squares are not very photogenic.

Despite the not so great photo, you must know that these are addicting AND yummy AND healthy AND easy!

Little squares full of oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and raisins.

Think of a soft, oatmeal raisin granola bar.

I’ve discovered that oats are such a great addition to gf baking(make sure you buy certified gluten free oats).  I’ve been substituting oats for gf flours and it has worked wonderfully.  Plus, they enhance the nutritious value. Score!!!

Oatmeal Raisin Squares

  • 2 cups gf oats
  • 1/4 cup rice flour(I’m thinking to eliminate this next time and substitue another 1/4 cup of gf oats)
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup raisins

-Preheat oven to 350 and spray 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray(I use Pam)

-In bowl, combine all ingredients until smooth

-Spread mixture in prepared baking pan and bake for 25-30minutes

-Let cool completely before cutting into 9 squares. If you can wait 🙂

Adapted from Carrots ‘N’ Cake

I did the Friday dance this morning….you?

-Erin

5 Responses

  1. Yum, that looks great……
    BTW, did you see the segment on Martha Stewart Living this week with the owner of babycakes bakery in NYC? She did a great segment on gluten free desserts…I thought of you g-f twd-ers would love it!

  2. Hi Mary,
    No, I didn’t see the Martha Stewart special. Darn.
    I know I would have enjoyed watching 🙂

  3. Those squares look great! I made tina’s squares a long time ago, adjusted them a bit, and really enjoyed them. Yours look good!

  4. i like your blog! these sound yummy… i haven’t tried oats yet.

    ps blogger and pictures = frustrating!

  5. FYI – I tagged you!

Leave a Reply

