Gluten Free Nutty Banana Snack Cake

img_0943

This was my breakfast today and I have no regrets.

Yesterday I felt the urge to experiment and I came up with this WINNER! Readers, if you haven’t already discovered, I have quite a large sweet tooth 🙂

I must add that this little snack cake has absolutely NO oil or butter or margarine or shortening.  Seriously!

The only pre-requisite: you MUST like bananas!

Here is the recipe:

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts( I used 1 cup of pecans; although I’m a nut lover it was a bit too much; I would recommend 1/2 cup)

-Preheat oven to 350; Grease 8×8 baking pan(I use Pam cooking spray)

-Mash bananas in bowl w/ fork

-Add eggs , sugar, and vanilla until well blended

-In seperate bowl sift oats, flours, bs, and cinnamon

-Add dry ingredient mixture, along with nuts, to wet ingredients until JUST blended; don’t overmix or the cake will turn gummy after it is baked

-Bake for ~40-45min until the cake springs back to your touch or toothpick inserted comes out clean

Tip of the day:  Cut the entire cake into small squares, individually wrap them in saran wrap and place them in the freezer. That way the cake will keep longer and you  can grab a single serving size as wanted needed.  I know this works for me as I often feel the need to eat the the dessert quickly before it “goes bad”…..which often leads to overeating on my part.  Not a good combo.

From one banana loving monkey to another,

-Erin

Leave a Reply

