Tuesdays with Dorie: Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding-Gluten Free

img_0896

 

Ta Da….gluten free chocolate bread pudding!

Lauren of Upper East Side Chronicle chose this week’s TWD.  Check out her blog to find the recipe.

After a long TWD hiatus I decided it was time to make an appearance 🙂

This recipe was an interesting experiment; having to substitute gluten free bread for the suggested day-old croissants or challah.  There just isn’t a comparison in my book but I proceeded.  I chose to use Glutino bagels as my “bread”.  I cut the bagels into 1 inch cubes and dried the cubes in the oven for about 10min.(to mimic stale bread).  I then added my bagel bites to the ramekins along with dried cherries and my egg/milk/sugar/chocolate mixture.

Results and thoughts:

I sampled this the same day it was made and the custard hadn’t set completely….but the flavor was RIGHT ON! Alex, my son, said it tasted like chocolate ice cream.  I think he described the taste perfectly.

I sampled the bread pudding the next day and the bagel pieces were ROCK HARD…..but the chocolate custard was perfect!  Darn it!

Soooo….I enjoyed the flavor of the bread pudding if only my bread and custard textures would have been on the same page.   I enjoyed the experiment but I’m much more of a muffin, cake, or cookie kind of girl.

I look forward to reading about the other Tuesdays with Dorie bakers and their versions of chocolate bread pudding.

30 Day Shred Challenge Update

The countdown has begun.  4 days left of my shredding challenge.  AM workouts are the way to go…hands down!  I’m much more consistant when I complete the shred 1st thing in the morning.  I love how it jump starts my day!  Keep it up and finish strong!

Cheers to a terrific Tuesday!

-Erin

6 Responses

  1. I wondered how you were going to do this. Glad it was at hit.

  2. I love that you were able to do this gluten free, and i agree with your son that it tastes like chocolate ice cream.

  3. So glad that you were able to find a way to make it work for you! I thought this was really delicious!

  4. After dating someone with celiacs, it seems like most gluten free breads are a bit drier – maybe they wouldn’t be rock hard if you used fresh bread? Chocolate ice cream is the perfect descriptor though!

  5. Gluten Free. Not easy to do but it looks really good.

  6. Great job! I really enjoyed this, especially warmed up with chocolate syrup or cream anglaise!

Leave a Reply

