Mexican Chicken Chili and Tortilla Chips

img_0854

 

I hope all of you are having a nice holiday weekend!

For us, Easter brought RAIN, RAIN, and RAIN!  Not a perfect day for an Easter egg hunt but definitely a perfect day for homemade chili and tortilla chips. 

This recipe is a family favorite and I’d like to share it with my readers 🙂  It gets the GF, thumbs up approval! Not only is it gluten free, it also can be made vegetarian by eliminating the chicken and adding  a can of black beans and/or a can of corn. Versatile, simple, easy and flavorful!! 

Mexican Chili

  • 1 pound of chicken breast boiled and shredded
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 medium green pepper(I used 1/2 red and 1/2 yellow)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup picante sauce(I used Pace Medium Spiced)
  • 1 can pinto beans(15 oz.)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

-In a large stock(soup) pan saute onions, peppers and garlic in ~2 Tablespoons olive oil until soft and transparent

-Add rest of ingredients

-Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low; simmer for ~20 minutes

-Serve with tortilla chips, grated cheese and/or sour cream

Homemade Tortilla Chips

  • 8-10 GF corn tortillas( I used Great Value–the Wal Mart brand)
  • salt
  • cooking spray(I used Pam)

-Cut  tortillas into triangles

-Place triangles, in a single layer, on baking sheet ;spray lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt

-Bake for @ 425 degrees for ~10-15minutes(or until lightly brown and crispy)

30 Day Shred Challenge Update

I’ve completed 20 days of the shred.  Tomorrow begins level 3. Uh oh….I’m a bit nervous 🙂 I’m so happy with the results so far. I finally bought the hand weights (2 pounds) that were recommended and it makes all of the difference. My upper body strength has improved tremendously and I actually see some definition in my arms.  Success!  If only I had taken “before” pictures.  Oh well, just completing the 30 day challenge is enough for me.

Until next time…..

-Erin

3 Responses

  1. Both the soup and the chips look and sound delicious.

  2. Way to go on your shred!!! Congrats.. Doesn’t it feel great to feel strong?? Makes all the baking a little less quilt worthy. 😉

  3. that soup looks delicious – and that’s a great idea with the corn tortillas!

    i am going to look into the shred on Exercise TV this weekend, do the first two, then get it if I like! I’m excited… i signed up for “biggest loser” at work which is a great way to maintain personal goals – knowing you have to weigh in every week!

Leave a Reply

