Mango Ice Cream

img_0732

 

Have mangoes? Make ice cream!

Two ripe mangoes caught my eye yesterday and inspired my sweet tooth.

Cool and refreshing.  Homemade ice cream.  I can’t complain. A splendid celebratory treat for a Sunday afternoon.

Celebratory you may ask?

Friday I received my 1 year follow-up bloodwork and ALL of my nutrient levels(which used to be very low and triggered the whole Celiac testing) came back well within the NORMAL range! I was beyond excited. It was confirmation and reassurance that eating gluten free for the past year has paid off!  I am thankful that my adherence to a gluten free diet has allowed my body, once again,  to absorb nutrients!

 So….for all of you diagnosed with Celiac Disease…be strong and eat gluten free for your health. Your body will thank you!

Onto the recipe ,which is adapted from The Perfect Scoop.

NOTE: you will need an ice cream maker 🙂

  • 2 mangoes, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • toasted coconut and mango chunks for garnish

Place mango chunks and water in medium saucepan over medium heat. Cover and bring mixture to a boil. Cook about 10min. or until mango pieces are tender.  Take mixture off heat and stir in sugar. Blend until sugar is completely dissolved.  Once the mixture is completely cool(very important or the heavy cream will curdle),  put mangoes in a blender and blend until smooth(I actually left mine with a few chunks b/c I like to see the mango pieces in the finished ice cream).  Pour cream into blender and pulse until combined with mango mixture.  Add to ice cream maker , according to manufacturer’s directions. 

There you have it….naturally gluten free ice cream!

30 Day Shred Challenge Update

I’ve completed 9 days of the shred. 21 more days to go 🙂 Although it is tempting to skip the shred some days, I never regret the 20min. of sweat once it is over.

I WILL  complete the challenge. WILL you?

I notice the biggest difference in my arm strength. On the first couple of days, I dreaded the push ups because I could only do 1 or 2. Now, I can complete both sets of push-ups without stopping. After 1 more day of Level 1, I’m moving onto Level 2. Rock on!

May you find the strength to complete a goal, whatever it may be!

-Erin

2 Responses

  1. Oh I love that book!! Great recipes…. I also love the Ben & Jerrys ice Cream book.. YUM! Great job. 🙂

  2. Yum! There’s a sushi place my boyfriend and I go to all the time, and they have mango ice cream on their dessert menu. It’s delicious, so I’ll definitely have to try this recipe. I really wanna get that book too!

Leave a Reply

