Tuesdays with Dorie: French Yogurt Cake – Gluten Free

img_0678

 

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie pick was GRRRRREAT!

Liliana of  My Cookbook Addiction chose the French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze. Thank you for a non-chocolate pick 🙂 This cake is right up my alley; light, full of citrus and perfect with a cup of hot tea. Yummo!

This cake called for lemon marmalade which I couldn’t find anywhere.  Suggestions? I think I found every other marmalade flavor but NO lemon; bummer. Instead, I improvised and made a glaze of fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. TAAAAASTY!

Yes, I left the cake in the oven a little too long and my cake edges got a bit browner than I would have liked.  Thank goodness it didn’t change the kickin’ lemon flavor.  This cake is even better the day after and the day after….you get the idea.

On a side note:  to all of my family readers…with the glaze, this cake is reminiscent of THE infamous ,Walters lemon cake 🙂

To make the cake gluten free, I substituted:

  • 1/2 brown rice flour, 1/4 cup tapioca starch, 1/4 potato starch for the AP flour
  • I used 1/2 cup ground almonds like the recipe suggested(the brown specks you see in the cake)
  • added 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum

Thanks Liliana for a terrific pick!

30 Day Shred Challenge Update

I actually skipped the workout yesterday(supposed to be Day 5), as my legs were extremely sore. I figured I better listen to my body in order to prevent injury:)  I’m back on track today and I completed Day 5 this morning. I exercised and showered before the kids got out of bed. A perfect, energizing start to the day.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

-Erin

12 Responses

  1. MMmm that looks absolutely wonderful!

  2. You have so many yummy looking recipes. I will be checking out your blog more often!

  3. The cake looks gorgeous! I’d have three pieces, then do the shred challenge to make myself feel better! haha

  4. Courtney,
    It is mmmmm wonderful 🙂

    Linda,
    Welcome! I will be a frequent reader on your blog as well 🙂

    Teanna,
    I think I actually did that…eat, eat, shred 🙂

  5. Looks awesome! And good that you took a break, your body does need rest.. and if you are too sore, you really could get injured! Take it from someone who knows. 😉

  6. This looks great! I love seeing good ways to make baked goods gluten free.

  7. If I ever need to know how to de-glutenize (is that even a word? hahaha) one of Dorie’s recipes… I know who to come to!!

    😀

  8. I would like to try it gluten free someday. It looks really tasty.

  9. Love your photo! The cake looks incredibly moist!

  10. Perfect with a cup of tea indeed. Beautiful job – I actually liked the brown bits the best 🙂

  11. Your cake looks delicious! I plan on this being a regular treat in my house.

    I’m glad I found your blog. I should be gluten-free. I have allergies and asthma and I do better when I cut gluten out, but it’s difficult loving all foods as I do. 😉 I think your blog will be an inspiration for me to do better.

  12. Thanks for the blog visits and posts! I love to hear from everyone in the blogging community!
    It is my hope that we can all inspire each other in one way or another ….gluten free or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

