Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Armagnac Cake-Gluten Free

img_0563

This Tuesday I present Chocolate Armagnac Brandy Cake; chosen by Lyb of, And then I do the dishes.  You can check out her blog and the recipe here.

Unfortunately, most of this cake didn’t get eaten. Although it had a beautiful appearance and the taste was decandently chocolate, I just didn’t care for the addition of prunes. They added a weird texture and a somewhat sour flavor to the cake.  The husband agreed.

Frankly,  I’m just burned out on TWD desserts that involve chocolate cake + ganache.  Enough with recipes that use bittersweet chocolate 🙂  I’m ready to dive into the Lemon Cup Custard and the French Yogurt Cake.

But…to leave on a positive note….I enjoy this baking group because it encourages me to try new techniques and flavor combinations. If it weren’t for Tuesdays with Dorie, I probably wouldn’t think of adding liquor soaked prunes to a cake. Stepping out of my baking comfort zone is a good thing, even if it produces a cake that isn’t one of my favorites.

To make the cake gluten free I substituted:

  • -1/8 cup brown rice flour and 1/8 tapioca flour for the all-purpose flour
  • -added 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • I replaced the Armagnac with Brandy(not b/c it wasn’t GF, I just didn’t have any on hand)

I’m interested to see what the other Tuesdays with Dorie bloggers thought about this cake?!??!

Have a great day!

-Erin

8 Responses

  1. My girl is gluten free, sugar free, egg, dairy, casein, soy, corn, fat, most fruit, most veggie, most oil free, nut free.

    I bet this would be good with light buckwheat flour.

  2. And i thought just going gluten free was a challenge. You must be a star in the kitchen, having to avoid all of the allergens you listed 🙂 thanks for the flour idea. i haven’t experimented with buckwheat in any recipes.
    -Erin

  3. Thanks for the blog comments!! I’m so glad to find another GF blogger! Your photos look DELICIOUS!! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  4. I’m going to have to go with you on this one, too! I can’t wait for the lemon cup custard to change it up!!! It does look delicious, though!

  5. Sorry you weren’t crazy about it. I made it gluten free by adding extra ground walnuts, but I’ll have to try buckwheat flour and experiment with it!

  6. Cake looks really moist and fudgey. Perfect.

  7. I’m with you on this one. Not my favorite TWD recipe. Yours does look lovely though.

  8. Definitely there with you on the overload of chocolate this past month. Sorry that this didn’t appeal to you.

    I’m looking forward to the non-chocolate lineup for the rest of this month! 🙂

Leave a Reply

