Lemon Ginger Creams

img_04983

 Let me preface this post by saying these lemon ginger creams were supposed to be cookies. Yep, “spicy, soft drop cookies” as described in the recipe. Well, as you can see in the photo, they look nothing like cookies. I bring you lemon ginger muffin buttons instead 🙂

Baking gluten free is a gamble.  You just never know how the flour substitutions will work. So far, I am 0-3 in GF cookie attempts. Thank goodness I listened to my GF baking intuition today or I would have upped my tally to 0-4. Guaranteed.

As soon as I had mixed all of my ingredients and saw my cookie batter, I knew there was NO way I was going to have cookies; it was just too liquidy. Soooo….instead of throwing out the batter, I decided to scoop the batter into muffin tins and create , what I call, muffin buttons. 

Maybe not a good decision afterall? I can’t stop eating these little guys. Uh oh.

 

Low Fat, GF Lemon Ginger Creams(Adapted from Pillsbury Healthy Baking)

Cookies Muffin Buttons

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup potato starch flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum

-Heat oven to 350 and grease muffin tins(recipe yields ~2dz)

-In mixing bowl, cream sugar and butter

-Add molasses, water and egg; beat well

-Add all remaining ingredients and stir just until blended

-Bake for 10-12min.

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 4 oz. butter, room temp.
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, room temp.
  • 5 oz powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract
  • Beat butter until smooth

-Beat butter and cream cheese until smooth

-Add extract and powdered sugar; beat until incorporated

-Top muffins with icing(also good without icing–and even lower in fat)

From my gluten free world to yours!

-Erin

2 Responses

  1. They look great!! I’m taking a break from gluten free baking for a while. I made some cupcakes that were awesome, but before that I made a HUGE batch of botched biscotti. Frustrating!!

  2. I can completely relate to the GF baking frustration…especially when the flours, mixes, etc. are NOT cheap.
    I’m glad it isn’t just me 🙂

Leave a Reply

