Tuesdays with Dorie: Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread-Gluten Free

img_0294

I love surprises. I love surprises that involve sugar and that are so stinkin’ good to eat.

This week’s TWD pick, by Heather @ Sherry Trifle, was exactly that…a tasty, sugary surprise.  Click  here for the recipe or , better yet, BUY the book.

A surprise you might ask?

Well, when making my shopping list, I became a bit doubtful with the pairing of ginger and chocolate.  Do those flavors really go together? It just seemed weird to combine fresh, chopped ginger and chocolate chips.

It just goes to show that I should never be judgemental; I LOVED it!

Did I tell you that I LOVED it?

My adaptations of the recipe:

-I omitted the ginger in the syrup; I couldn’t find it in the grocery store.

-I substituted 2/3 cup potato starch, 2/3 cup brown rice flour and 2/3 cup tapioca flour for the all purpose flour(to make it Gluten Free) and I added 1 teaspoon xanthan gum

-I eliminated the ganache on top; I did make the icing, and it was YUMMY, but I prefer the cake plain, with a simple dusting of powdered sugar.

To all of my friends, family and fellow bloggers….

MAKE THIS, BAKE THIS and EAT THIS!! 

Until next week’s World Peace Cookies, Bake On!

-Erin

6 Responses

  1. It looks great! I’m impressed that you are able to convert so many recipes to gluten-free!

  2. I’m glad you loved it. This was a great recipe.

  3. Oh yours looks great too Erin! Well done… I need to start branching out from the Pamelas mix and trying some of the suggestions in other baking books for GF flour mixtures. Pamelas just makes it so darn easy for me.. but not always perfect. 😉

  4. I didn’t use the icing either. Figured it would be better with out. Like the idea of just powdered sugar. YOurs looks yummy!

  5. I’m happy I found a fellow Houston Celiac!

    And that looks so delicious… I also saw some oatmeal cookies down the page that have me tempted to break out the cookie sheets at 10pm…

  6. jen,
    LOL.
    believe me, i’ve also had urges to bake at late hours 🙂
    i have such a sweet tooth!
    -erin

Leave a Reply

