Tuesdays with Dorie: Berry Surprise Cake-Gluten Free

img_02252img_02431

This week, us Tuesdays with Dorie bakers, embarked on the Berry Surprise Cake challenge. Mary Ann @ Meet Me in the Kitchen chose the recipe and you can find the original recipe and her blog here.

I guess I should clarify.  This recipe was a challenge for me, maybe not for everyone.

Genoise cakes are VERY fragile and take a lot of tender lovin’ care. It is easy to heat the eggs too much and it is easy to overmix the batter. Add to that, making the recipe gluten free….it caused some anxiety on my end 🙂

The results? It worked, but I’m not sure I would make it again.  Good but not GRRRRRREAT.  The ratio of cake to cream was unbalanced for me.  With the cream cheese filling and the whipped cream topping, it was just too much. Put it this way, I was able to take a few bites and not be tempted to go back for seconds.  Although it isn’t my favorite recipe,  as always, I enjoyed the time in the kitchen.

I followed Dorie’s recipe, making the following adjustments:

-substituted 1/3 cup brown rice flour and 1/3 cup tapioca & potato starch for the all-purpose flour

-added 1/2 teaspoon of xanthan gum

-made the cream cheese filling lemon flavored by adding lemon extract

-substituted blackberries, strawberries and blueberries for the raspberries

Stay tuned for next Tuesday….Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread.

Bake on!

-Erin

4 Responses

  1. Looks fabulous.

  2. Your cake looks gorgeous. I love the mix of berries.

  3. Your cake is beautiful! I love the pile of berries on top.

  4. Your cake is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

