TWD: Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins

img_01371

This week’s pick was chosen by Rebecca @ Ezra Pound Cake.

Delish, Gluten Free style. 

The hubby and I gave rave reviews. In fact the hubby quickly said, “it’s a keeper”.

Very Mexican and you know how I love me some Mexican. Nothing beats the combination of corn, jalapeno, and cilantro.  Add a side of spicy black beans, rice, shredded pork and you’ve got yourself a fine meal.

With this recipe, I reached a gluten free baking milestone.

Instead of using Pamela’s baking mix, I ventured out and CREATED my own flour blend.  For the 1 cup of AP flour I substituted 1/3 cup of Brown Rice flour, 1/3 cup Potato Starch,  1/3 cup Tapioca Flour and 1 teaspoon Xanthan Gum.  Simply, it worked and I felt proud.

By the way HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Bake on!

-Erin

7 Responses

  1. WOW!!! What a combo! Can you please post that recipe one day?! It sounds like you really mastered those substitutions!

  2. Great idea to pair these with a mexican dish i didnt even think of that. Your look great.

  3. How wonderful that you made your own gluten free flour sub. I’m glad these were a hit in your house.

  4. Good for you Erin!! I am impressed… Was there a method to your madness, for combining the flours?? I used Pamelas and they came together beautifully. 🙂

    • Hi Carolyn,
      No particular method as to what flours I chose. I’ve been reading a few different Gluten Free baking books and it seems that the 3 I chose are pretty common 🙂 I knew I didn’t want to use all rice flour, as I’ve done that before and it turned out VERY gritty.

  5. I’ve been wanting to try some gluten-free baking, but I haven’t wanted to buy a mix. Now I can try your way. Thanks! (Oh, and the muffins look great!)

  6. Beautiful job…the meal looks great!

Leave a Reply

