TWD: GF Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

 

This week’s pick came from Clara at  IHeartFood4Thought and you can find the recipe on her blog.

Milk. Milk. Milk.

That is what you need when eating these chocolatey, chocolatey cupcakes(actually they tasted more like brownies than cupcakes).

Delicious, but a bit too rich for me.  Let me rephrase that…they must not have been toooo rich, because I managed to devour two 🙂

Hmmm. Didn’t I say that I’m participating in mindful eating?

Since baking GF I have discovered that my goodies don’t rise as much as “regular” muffins and cakes. Explanation = because the GF flour mix lacks protein, aka gluten, the batters aren’t strong enough to hold the rest of the ingredients and create the rise.  In fact, after I take them out of the oven, they will sink in the middle and create a “well” of sorts.   I’ve done a little investigating and in turns out that I probably need to seperate the egg yolks and the egg whites in my recipes; add the yolks after I cream the butter & sugar and fold in the egg whites as the last addition. This will help create air and hopefully increase the volume.  Next time.

Thanks again to Pamela’s Baking Mix for my flour substitution.  

 NOTE: When I make this recipe again I will double the ganache recipe. I only had enough to decorate about half of my cupcakes. Maybe that was because I had to compensate for my “wells”.

Bake on!

-Erin

One Response

  1. Way to make the recipe work for your GF needs! Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

Leave a Reply

