Tuesday’s with Dorie-Gluten Free

I am an official Tuesday’s with Dorie baker!

You may not know this about me but I am addicted to food blogs. Through my browsing, I came across the TWD baking club that has a mission to bake every recipe in, Baking: From My Home to Yours, week by week. Fun.

Before I was diagnosed with Celiac, I actually bought this book, not knowing there was such a Dorie Greenspan following. She is my new idol.

So, I’ve joined the ranks of the group, only I will be altering the recipes to make them gluten free. Everyone needs a challenge and it feels comforting to be back in the baking world.

The book is amazing and I would encourage all of you to buy it and join the group. Keeping in mind that you only have until October 31st to join. If you choose, happy baking.

This Tuesday we had the option of making Creme Brulee or choosing a recipe from a past week. I opted for last week’s choice of Dimply Plum Cake, chosen by Michelle at Bake-En. To make the cake gluten free I substituted 365 Whole Foods Gluten Free Baking Mix for the all purpose flour. The result? Surprisingly GREAT. I say surprisingly, as I haven’t baked with plums before and I can tell you that I’ll definitely make this again. The plums provide such a sweet tang in contrast to the slightly spiced cake.
I can only imagine how tasty this would be non-gluten free 🙂
Bake on!
-Erin-

5 Responses

  1. Very brave! Your GF version looks great! Welcome to TWD

  2. Welcome to TWD! Can’t wait to read how you make these recipes GF. Food blogs ARE an addiction. 😉

  3. Rebecca and Holly,
    Thanks for the warm ,TWD welcome !
    Your blogs look great.

  4. Welcome! Glad you can join us!

  5. Welcome! I look forward to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

