A recipe for the book!

I always have been and I always will be a cereal girl. Even since turning gluten free, I typically eat cereal for breakfast. I am now addicted to Rice Chex(the only Kellog’s, General Mills, etc. name brand cereal that is gluten free).

 

This past saturday proved otherwise when the kiddos suggested we eat pancakes. Sure, I was up for a culinary challenge and a break in the routine. The innocence of childhood allowed me to experiment with a gluten free recipe. Although it took twice as long, it did turn into a fun experience, as the kiddos put on their aprons and helped mix the ingredients. 

 

The kids gobbled down the pancakes without any mention of them tasting different. Yay! I gobbled mine down too. Yay!  I could taste the alternative flours and the somewhat “grittiness” texture, but the overall taste was reminiscent of my pre-gluten free days; especially with the syrup and fresh bananas. What a relief to know that I don’t have to give up the yummy food.

 

Old Fashioned Pancakes

1 1/2 cups Gluten Free flour blend(White Rice Flour,Potato Starch, Tapioca Starch, Guar Gum)

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 Tablespoon sugar

1 1/4 cups skim milk

1 egg

3 Tablespoons melted butter

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour the milk, egg, and melted butter. Mix until smooth.

Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour ~ 1/4 cup of batter onto to the griddle. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

3 Responses

  1. Looks yummy! The only thing missing would be BLUEBERRIES!!!!

  2. I guess I’m Mel-K now, just doesn’t have the same ring does it? Anyway, those pancakes look pretty darn tasty! I shouldn’t have looked at them right before lunch because they are making me hungry!

  3. Mom-I agree. Blueberries inside the pancakes and on top. Next time 🙂

    Mel-Yeah,I think you’ll always be Mel-T to me. No pancakes for lunch I guess , but at least a Brueggers bagel?

Leave a Reply

