Gluten Free Mint Brownies

IMG_2589

Today I bring you such an intriguing, different and flavorsome recipe. 

The recipe got my attention and it needs to get yours too.

If you don’t do anything else this weekend, make these secret ingredient brownies!

Can you believe  that these wonders are made with NO flour and a can of black beans? 

I had my doubts , but lo and behold, it has become my go to gluten free brownie recipe.   Chocolately with such a soft texture and truly brownieY.  The ingredient combination still has me in awe.

If my coworkers couldn’t detect black beans, you won’t either.

Without further ado…..the recipe(with my own little twist).

  • One, 15 1/2 oz. can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped Hershey’s Mint Truffle kisses(Oh Lord–so divine)

Preheat oven to 350 and grease 8×8 baking pan

Place black beans and oil  into food processor and process until smooth and creamy

Add the rest of the ingredients and process until combined & smooth

Fold in Hershey’s kisses and sprinkle a few more on top

Bake for 30-35min until toothpick comes out clean

Source:  everyfoodfits

NOTE: I could actually smell and taste some BEANage once I pulled them from the oven but no BEANage the day after.  So…be patient and let them sit for a few hours or overnight. 

I love seeing the reaction of people when they discover the main ingredient is black beans. HeHe.

-eRiN

11 Responses

  1. Hooray! Glad you liked them! Love the mint Kisses idea. A friend of mine said she’s going to try some cayenne pepper or something else to make it hot and spicy!

    If my husband loves black bean brownies, everyone will. :)

    • oooo. cayenne pepper sounds interesting. a mexican twist.
      i couldn’t agree with you more about the hubby’s opinion….same at our house too. :)

  2. im not a particular chocoholic or brownie fan but these sound beyond anything i’ve eaten–really luxurious!

    • they really are luxurious. i’m addicted to this recipe.
      between my kiddo’s teachers, my coworkers, my husband and my kids…i haven’t found anyone who didn’t like them.

  3. Wow! Truly amazing. I will have to try them!

    • jen,
      yes, you need to try them.
      i should mention though i haven’t tried them plain, without any mint addition.
      maybe the minty flavoring hides the bean taste, if there is any bean taste?!?!

  4. Umm…how did you know that I wanted to make mint brownies?? Now I have to!! These look great :)

  5. I admit, I haven’t tried those mint kisses, but these brownies sound wonderful. I’ll have to try them.

  6. Wow. And no flour at all?! Really?!
    Do you think these would work with Splenda in place of sugar? Cane sugar is still an enemy of mine… but ohhh do those ever look good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

