Gluten Free Peanut Butter Banana Bread

IMG_2424

Newspapers.

I think of  Sunday mornings,  reading the comics, clipping coupons, drinking coffee and eating breakfast.

Although I don’t have the time to read a newspaper daily, I do somehow always find the time to browse the recipe section.  As if I really need one more recipe, right?

I love the fact that the recipes are often submitted by local folk; tried and true family recipes.

This recipe was featured in a section called NC State Fair Recipes and it is soooooo good.  It truly tastes like a peanut butter and banana sandwich.  Imagine that? 

I hope you like it as much as me.

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Banana Bread

  • 1  3/4 cup Pamela’s Baking Mix
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter(I used Jiff)
  • 1 cup mashed bananas(about 3 whole naners)
  • 2 eggs
  • NOTE: if you are using a gf baking mix that doesn’t include baking powder/baking soda, you will need to add 1 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350. Grease loaf or mini-loaf pan.

In a bowl mix Pamela’s with sugar. Cut in peanut butter until mixture  resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in eggs and bananas until just blended. Spread evenly in pan(s). Bake ~ 25min for mini loaf pan or ~1hr. 10min. for large loaf pan.

Source: The Herald Sun

I hope our technology absorbed society doesn’t drop the production of newspapers and rely only on internet reading.

There is something so wholesome about holding and reading the newspaper.  Black fingertips and all.

-eRiN

4 Responses

  1. ITA about newspapers! Although they keep cutting the content of the N&O so much that I fear it’s going to end up being like 4 pages long. I think my hubby would like this bread, he loved PB & bananna sandwiches. Where do you get Pamela’s baking mix? Can I substitute something else for it if I can’t find it?

    • hi mel!
      if he likes PB and nana sammywiches, he’ll definitely like this bread. it is yummy.
      pamela’s mix is kind of expensive so i would suggest you make it non-gluten free.
      just substitute AP flour for the pamela’s and add 1 teaspoon baking powder. keep the rest of the recipe the same.
      btw…i always think of you when i read the newspaper. sitting in the ghetto blue recliner, eating brueggers, reading the newspaper…on bluebird court :)

      • Yes! The blue recliner (including duct tape). Hadn’t thought about it in ages. That was a comfy recliner.

        Thanks for the recipe, I’ll have to try it out when I get some free time (so maybe June 2012). :-)

  2. why did i never think to add PB to my banana bread?! genius! thanks :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

