Dessert Nachos

img_0866

 

Back in March I was the lucky recepient of free Oikos Greek Yogurt coupons, given by Kristina at Stonyfield Farm.  Thanks Kristina!

I have to say that I am an official greek yogurt convert.  I won’t say NEVER, but I really can’t imagine buying regular yogurt anymore.  The fact that it is gluten free is an obvious reason but also because it is high in protein, has no cholesterol and is all natural.  Give it a try and I think you’ll agree!

I chose to use my free samples on dessert nachos.

Once again, a mexican theme is posted :)  For all of you who don’t know…I am married to a Mexican and his food influences have rubbed off on me.  A good thing .  I must tell you, however, when I told him I was making strawberry nachos he said “what?, those aren’t nachos….nachos need jalapenos”. Ha,Ha.  I guess you can call these American nachos.

 These nachos are homemade cinnamon sugar corn tortillas, topped with sliced strawberries, vanilla Oikos Greek Yogurt and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Nachos that actually have some protein and vitamin C.  Nachos that won’t leave a grease pit in your stomach. A wonderful addition to a spring dinner menu OR, like our house, a nice afternoon snack :)

To make the tortillas:

Cut gf corn tortillas(I used the Wal-Mart brand) into triangles and spread, in a single layer on a baking sheet.  Lightly spray with Pam and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture(roughly 1/8 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon).  Bake @ 425 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

I think the rest of the nacho preparation is self-explanatory,right?  I know you bloggers are creative so I’d be interested in seeing your take on dessert nachos…..what toppings would you enjoy?  Let me know.

Eat ‘em up!

30 Day Shred Challenge Update

I have completed  24 days of the challenge. Six more Level 3 workouts and I’m DONE!  Level 3 is no joke. All of those plank push-ups are killer. By the end of the workout, I am one sweaty, breathing hard girl :)  It feels good knowing that my body has been pushed. Even when this challenge is over I will continue to incorporate this DVD into my exercise.  I love it ! For all of you other shredders, keep up the good work and stick to the workouts…you’ll be thankful!

Rock on!

-Erin

3 Responses

  1. Love it!! I love Oikos SO much. It was the first greek yogurt I tried, and I have NEVER gone back! Plus, 0 fat. You can’t beat that!

  2. What a fun idea. I think my husband would have the same reaction, what? but then he’d enjoy them.

  3. What a great idea. I will have to try this one….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

